NOT the Baker’s Daughter…

This…

Image

is my mom’s Betty Crocker Cookbook.  She got it when she was newly married to my dad, about 40 years ago. Considering the condition its in, you can say it’s been used a few times.

I have one too…

 Image

I got it from my Grandmother and aunt when I was getting married 12 years ago.

The difference between these two cookbooks? In the 12 years I’ve been married, I’ve opened mine, maybe looked through it…  I don’t think I’ve ever actually COOKED anything from the recipes inside.

My mom’s on the other hand… is falling apart.

It’s held together by a rubberband. If you take off the rubberband, the book splits right at the recipe for Baked Ham.

Image

The pages are frayed and yellowed and coming off the binding.  It looks the way any GOOD cookbook should.  Some of our favorite recipes are in there…

Here’s Mom’s recipe for Corned Beef and Cabbage:

Image

Any MY FAVORITE Chili con Carne:

Image

And Split Pea Soup:

Image

My mom was a stay-at-home mom for most of my life. She exemplified the definition of “stay-at-home mom”.  She kept the house clean, we had homemade meals almost every night, she was involved in the PTA and was constantly carting me and my brother to our various after-school activities.

Now that its my turn to be the stay-at-home mom, I try to follow in her footsteps as best I can.  I don’t know how some moms do it, working and still being able to run a household. I’ve always given credit where credit is due to all the working moms and the work-from-home moms who are able to hold down a successful career or business an still have time for their kids and husbands and keep a clean house and have fresh home-cooked meals for their families (almost) every night.  I envy you.  I don’t know how you do it without super-powers and/or drugs. But somehow you do, and I’m jealous. But, I digress…

This month the From Left to Write Book Club read The Baker’s Daughter by Sarah McCoy.  It’s a beautifully written book that parallels the lives of two women, one in a bakery in Nazi Germany just as the war is ending, and one in present day who can’t seem to get herself together.

While I read the book, I wracked my brain trying to think of a family recipe that I could share with you as the basis for the post.  Sadly, I couldn’t find anything I wanted to make that would not come out horribly, horribly wrong.  And then suddenly, my mom’s cookbook popped into my head.  All our favorites are in there, (even the cream puffs) but then suddenly, I didn’t want to share a recipe from this book with you.  It’s our closely guarded secret…  So much so that I even had my mom WILL this book to me! (I just researched it, and you can’t get this exact book, ANYWHERE!  You can get something similar, but not the same book.)

So, I will share a recipe with you…  however not from this book…  but from this one:

Yes, I know…  it says “diet”.  Shh…

Why am I sharing a diet recipe with you??  Honestly?  Because I’m PMS-ing and I want chocolate and this is the BEST chocolate cake I’ve ever eaten.  Nuff said.

Here you go:

http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Yummy-Chocolate-Cake

Of course, I made some changes to the recipe, substituting full-fat versions of the fat -free items and maybe an egg yolk or two. Who says diet has to be “diet”??  YUM!!  Enjoy!!

THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE EVER!!

This is an original ROSCMM post and was written for the From Left to Write Book Club and was insipired by The Baker’s Daughter by Sarah McCoy, a copy of which I received for free from the publisher for the purposes of this book club and no, you can not steal my content unless you specifically ask me for it first. It’s called copyright, yo.

Copyright 2012 Mastermind Mommy

Categories: From Left to Write Book Club | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “NOT the Baker’s Daughter…

  1. I was given a Betty Crocker cookbook when I was married nearly 12 years ago. It is our favorite cook book by far!! How awesome that your mom still has hers.

  2. That looks really good! I’ll have to try it. Also, I cook a lot and none of my cookbooks look like your mom. I’m a little too anal retentive about keeping my books pretty.

  3. Pingback: Book Club Day: The Baker’s Daughter by Sarah McCoy

  4. I absolutely loved this post. I have two cookbooks in the EXACT same condition given to me by my grandmothers from either side. I cherish them, especially the handwritten snippets on various pages to substitute this or that for an ingredient. It warms my heart that we have shared this experience!

    Thank you for reading and being so moved by THE BAKER’S DAUGHTER that you went in search of the perfect recipe! I couldn’t be more flattered.

    Yours truly,
    Sarah

  5. Another great post! Now, if you can just let my wife know about how you feel about working mothers as she is super jealous of all stay at home moms! Hope you start posting more!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 959 other followers

