Non-Fiction Ramblings

I need to read more.

I know, that sounds so dumb coming from me, right??

I mean, I’m always reading, right?

Right, but WHAT am I reading?

I have to say, I’m a little discouraged in my reading history. I took one of those stupid Facebook quizes that listed 46 banned books. Do you know how many I’ve read?

Ready?

4.

That’s it. And they were all for school. I’ve been out of school for 12 years. Most of them were for high school. I’ve been out of high school 16 years.

Really?

Guess I can’t say that I’m “well read”.

The reason for this rambling is because this month the From Left to Write Book Club is reading The Black Count by Tom Reiss. I’ve heard nothing but wonderful things about this book. “It’s so engrossing!” said one book club member. “I love this book!” said another.

Photo courtesy of Amazon.com

Know what I say about it?

Zzzzzzzzzz…

Now I mean the author no offense. Please, Mr Reiss, I honestly can not say if my opinion of the book is good or bad because as soon as I sit down to read it…

Zzzzzzzzzz…

I don’t know what’s wrong with me!! I can’t seem to get more than a few pages into this book without feeling sleepy and oftentimes dozing right off!

Maybe it’s just that there’s a lot going on in my life and I’m just tired. Maybe it’s just that I can’t read a non-fiction book with out falling asleep!

I accepted this book this month because I had never read The Count of Monte Cristo and this book is based on the original Alexandre Dumas, the father of the author of The Count of Monte Cristo and the Three Musketeers

I’d been thinking lately that I needed to read more classics. Like Jane Eyre and Pride and Prejudice. I LOVED the Thursday Next series that told of a world where people could actually go INTO the books and live there and solve crimes there, so why not read the classics that these books were based on?

There are so many books out there to read, so many adventures to go on.  If I could spend all day, everyday, reading, I would,

but, of course not a whole lot would get done.  :)

I have every intention of finishing this book. Not sure if it will be sooner or later, but eventually, I will finish it.

And I will post my opinion of it when I finish it.

But for now…

I think I need to go to bed earlier.

What’s your favorite piece of classical literature? I’m up for suggestions!!

This is an original ROSCMM post and was written for the From Left to Write Book Club This post was inspired by The Black Count; Glory, Revolution, Betrayal and the Real Count of Monte Cristo,by Tom Reiss, a copy of which I received for free from the publisher for the purposes of this book club and no, you can not steal my content unless you specifically ask me for it first. It’s called copyright, yo.

Copyright 2012 Mastermind Mommy

Categories: FAIL, From Left to Write Book Club | Tags: | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Non-Fiction Ramblings

  1. This is exactly why i don’t read more non-fiction. I did love the book though.

  2. Pingback: Book Club Day: The Black County by Tom Reiss

  3. I rarely read non-fiction, but I got caught up in this book. Biographies always appeal to me more than other types of non-fiction, I guess, because I love reading about the people who’ve come before us. Also, I love having real examples of lives that are sprawling and wide.

  4. This is what I like about FL2W–it brings out the student in me, and it compels me to complete my “assignment.” Good thing we have a month to do it!!

  5. I sectioned off the book and read 50 pages a night before bed. It did help put me to sleep but then I dreamed some really vivid dreams.

  6. I totally understand – I fall asleep doing a lot of things these days, and I just knew I’d be KO’d at the thought of non-fiction, but I spend so much time on Wikipedia (love it) now that it was like one REALLY long Wikipedia entry for me…

  7. joliselten

    Ok this just completely cracked me up and the picture at the end is exactly how I feel. In fact I’m currently sitting next to a giant pile of unfolded laundry, a sleeping half naked baby and I’m running late to pick up the first grader! haa! I love to read. More than that I love the idea of being well-read. I am currently reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver and it’s great. I keep getting to the middle of books, though, and I somehow feel like I already get the gist and I lose interest. Does that ever happen to you? BTW, I write for Bamboo Magazine, I’m a mom of three humans and three dogs, and I also have a part-time paid gig… with regard to going to sleep earlier… I’d just like more friggen time to meditate, read, and play with my kids. I think I need to stay up later! haa!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 957 other followers

