Melvin the Magnificent Molar (a book review)

Meet Melvin.  Melvin the Magnificent Molar.  I was recently approached by the authors of this delightful children’s book, Julia Cook and Dr. Laura Jana, and asked if I would introduce Melvin to my children and give them some feedback.  I did and I have to tell you, it is well worth it.  Melvin is absolutely adorable!!  This book is certainly my daughter’s favorite potty time read.  (hey, she’s sitting on the pot, the least I can do is give her something educational to read!) It is an educational and fun book that teaches children the importance of taking proper care of their teeth and seeing the dentist on a regular basis.  My favorite are the sleeping scummies and the x-ray machine in the beginning.

Although a little long for my two year old to handle in one sitting, she just loves looking through all the pictures and asking “What’s that Mommy?”  She loves the idea of the Tooth Fairy (well, any kind of fairy) and is eager to brush her teeth now at all times of the day or night, not just when someone else is doing it.

I like that it helps to ease the fears that some children have about going to the dentist.  Often times, adults avoid seeing the dentist and do not make it a priority for their children.  This book makes it fun, and just about the entire visit is described and illustrated in vivid detail. (save for the wait in the waiting room, which can be the most nerve-wracking)

The book is available through the author’s website www.juliacook.com or through Amazon.com I highly suggest it for any parent whose got a little one reluctant to brush their teeth.  Go!  Go get it or I will start singing the “Happy Tooth Song”!

This is an original ROSCMM post.  All opinions in this post come from Jennifer herself unless otherwise noted. This post has a compensation level of 1,(visit my Full Disclosure page for more details) and no, you can not steal my content unless you specifically ask me for it first.  It’s called copyright, yo.

Copyright 2010 by MastermindMommy

Categories: Book Reviews, Reviews | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

