Sesame Street Live! Elmo’s Healthy Heroes.

So my friend Emily over at MamaSick.com sends me an email one day.  Would I be interested in helping her out on a review opportunity?  She was asked to attend a performance and do a review of Curious George Live and Sesame Street Live while the shows are in the NY/NJ area.  There’s only one problem, she couldn’t attend the Sesame Street Live show as it was here on Long Island and her health prevented her from traveling out this way from New Jersey.  Would I be interested in attending the Sesame Street Live performance at the Nassau Colosseum running a contest on my blog and writing a review of the show?  In return I would get free passes to the show.

So what do you think I said?  HELL YES!!  Do you actually think I would pass up FREE passes to a show that my whole family would enjoy??

Upon first mention to the Big Boy his reaction was “Oh no!  I’m not going to THAT!  I don’t like Sesame Street anymore.”

Of course my response was,”Too bad, you’re going whether you like it or not.”  THAT changed his tune. (well, no, not really, but he stopped complaining about it for a while)

Now, I made the mistake of telling Little Miss about the show on the morning I went to the theater to exchange the vouchers Vee Corporation sent me for tickets for the following week.  So for the rest of the week, she’s asking me “Is Elmo here yet?”  I finally resorted to telling her that it’s a long walk from Sesame Street and he would be here next week.  She didn’t believe me.  All day she sat at the window watching for Elmo.  It was quite cute, until it got annoying.

Anyway, one agonizing week later, I’m getting Big Boy ready for school.  Little Miss is so excited because we’re going to FINALLY see Elmo and Big Boy decides that he’s not going to the show. (again)  I tried explaining to him that even though he’s a big boy, it’s ok to do little kid things once in a while, like going to see Sesame Street Live with his family.  Reluctantly, he agreed.

The evening comes and we get to the show.  Big Boy is grumbling about having to leave his PSP in the car, Little Miss is looking for Elmo to jump out and say hi.  Hubs spends WAY too much money on souvenirs and food.  And suddenly, here come Bert and Ernie!

Little Miss’s eyes light up and Big Boy chomps on his popcorn.  Then comes Abby Cadabby, Big Bird, Zoe, and Cookie Monster, Count Von Count, Telly Monster, Prairie Dawn and Cookie Monster, that grouch girl whose name I can’t remember and finally…  the monster of the hour (the week even) ELMO!

The one the only ELMO!!

Little Miss was beside herself she was so happy to see Elmo! She wanted to run right down and give him a big ol’ hug.

Opening number concluded, the remainder of the first half of the show continues.  Apparently Super Grover has lost his super and while he’s out finding it, Elmo, Abby Cadabby, Telly Monster and Zoe (and Rocko even though he’s just a rock) with the help of the show’s only human character, the letter “K”, have to take over for Super Grover while learning about how to get and stay healthy.

Zoe and Rocko, Elmo, the letter K, Abby, and Telly!

Intermission comes and Big Boy reports to me, “Mom, I am SO NOT regretting this!  This is AWESOME!”  A big “I told you so” grin crept over my face.  He was enjoying himself!

Hubs leaves and comes back a few minutes later with an Elmo doll for Little Miss and cotton candy for Big Boy (and me).  He’s a little cranky cause they wouldn’t let him out of the building to get our jackets from the car. (it was COLD in there!)

The show resumes and The Fabulous Five saves the day in places like Elmo’s World and Journey to Ernie.  Little Miss, who spent part of the show in my lap because she was afraid of the confetti cannons, is now standing next to me singing and dancing along to the show.

Finally Elmo and friends discover how to get Super Grover’s superness back is by eating healthy, using good hygiene, getting enough sleep, and exercising!  Soon Super Grover is flying all over Sesame Street- Up, Up and AWAY!! And my kids are clapping and cheering him on.  I found myself clapping and cheering too!!

What a great show!  I loved the fact that the show incorporates the ideas of eating right, using good hygiene, exercising and getting enough sleep.  I also loved that the show is geared toward kids and adults alike.

Many thanks to Vee Corporation and Emily at MamaSick.com for the tickets and the opportunity.  We had a great time and you will too!

Here’s more info on the show!

Sesame Street Live

“Elmo’s Healthy Heroes”

Uniondale, NY; Nassau Coliseum

Thursday, September 16 – Sunday, September 19, 2010

East Rutherford, NJ; IZOD Center

Thursday, September 30 – Sunday, October 3, 2010

White Plains, NY; Westchester County Center

Thursday, October 21 – Sunday, October 24, 2010

When Super Grover loses his superness, Sesame Street needs a hero! Never fear, Elmo and his team of Healthy Heroes are here. Teaching lessons of healthy habits through song and dance, Elmo, Abby Cadabby and your favorite Sesame Street friends will explore exercise, nutrition, sleep/energy and hygiene – all in a quest to put the “super” back in Super Grover. It’s Elmo’s Healthy Heroes to the rescue!

  • Sesame Street Live is a larger-than-life, musical touring stage production featuring Big Bird, Elmo, Cookie Monster, Bert and Ernie…and more.  Each performance is 90 minutes of singing, dancing and audience participation, including a 15-minute intermission.  The perfect length for very young children!!
  • Uniondale, NY and East Rutherford, NJ tickets go on-sale Tuesday, July 20, 2010 and White Plains, NY tickets go on sale August 23, 2010 at the box office and all Ticketmaster locations.
  • To charge by phone, call 800-745-3000

**Enter the code ERNIE online at ticketmaster.com to receive $3 off each ticket! (excludes Gold Circle, VIP, Sunny Seats, and Opening Night performances)

Want to see more pics from our Sesame Street Live Experience??  Here ya go!

This is an original ROSCMM post. All opinions in this post come from Jennifer herself unless otherwise noted. This post has a compensation level of 10 (visit my Full Disclosure page for more details) and no, you can not steal my content unless you specifically ask me for it first. It’s called copyright, yo.

Copyright 2010 MastermindMommy

Categories: Reviews | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sesame Street Live! Elmo’s Healthy Heroes.

  1. Jennifer, what a great post, I shared your children’s joy and laughed out loud. Thank you for thanking ME, but hey, you lived on Long Island and just got lucky! Only kidding. Your turned out to be a nice friend too.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

