A Memorable Neighbor… or Keep Your Crazy Away From My Kid!

So… this week’s Mama Kat’s writing prompts made me laugh… There’s so much shit I can put out there, but this one especially made me chuckle.

Mama’s Losin’ It
A Memorable Neighbor.

For those of you who have been following for a while, you know I have been having troubles with the woman across the street. She is the mother of my son’s “best friend” and we have issues…

Well, last week those issues escalated and we are now not speaking to each other and our boys’ relationship is at stake.
Lemme ‘splain…

Picture it if you will…

It’s a chilly Monday morning and I’m standing at the bus stop with The Boy.  We are the only ones there and it’s starting to rain.  Boy gets on the bus, I make my way home.  That afternoon, it’s raining still and again, I am the only one on the bus stop.  The bus pulls up and opens its doors.  That’s when I notice “Mary” step into my line of view to retrieve her son.  I then turn my head and look down the row of windows and notice one of the girls that The Boy sits with is in the window crying.  I ask little Tracey why she is crying, but obviously she can’t answer me through the window.  The Boy gets off the bus and we have this exchange:

Me: Hi.  Why is Tracey crying?

Boy: Because Vinnie (her cousin) is going to be reported.

Me: Why is Vinnie going to be reported and who is going to report him?

Boy: Because he called Johan an idiot.  Big Jonathan (the fifth grade bully and self-appointed bus safety) is going to report him.

Now…  imagine the look on your face when you hear that.  Yeah, that’s the one. With the eyebrow going up…  Uh huh…  Cause, why would Vinnie get reported just cause he called Johan an idiot??  There are worse things that can happen on the bus to get reported for, right?  EXACTLY!  Now imagine if you will that you are walking along a busy road while listening to this story so you have to watch where you are going, right?  And imagine that “Mary” is walking along in front of you so while you are looking where you are going you are forced to look kinda at her cause she’s in front of you.  And at that moment that you are walking along, listening to this story about Vinnie getting reported for calling Johan an idiot, and making that face and kinda looking at Mary who is walking in front of you so you don’t walk into her, Mary turns to look at you.  Now you don’t really see her cause you are listening to the story and trying to not get run over or walk into her and when she smiles at you, your expression doesn’t really change until at the last moment you try to smile at her but it’s too late!!  She has taken that look on your face as meant for her!

The next morning, she is not at the bus stop.  That afternoon, she is there, but won’t look at me.  I say hello and she doesn’t respond.  I’ve brought Little Miss with me so I grab up my baby and walk right up to her.

Me: Okay, so what did I do now?

Her: You made an ugly face at me, I don’t like it. (or something like that, I couldn’t get the whole thing in her broken english/spanish rant)

Me: What are you talking about?  When did I do that?

Her: Yesterday. I don’t like it.  Okay?

Me: What?  I didn’t even see you yesterday.

Her: Blah, blah blah (I honestly can’t remember what she said here, probably nothing that made any sense , but I’m sure it ended with ) Okay?

Me: I don’t understand!  I didn’t even SEE you yesterday.

She then proceeds to tell me that I gave her a dirty look yesterday and that I don’t really like her, that she can FEEEEEEEEL it,  and that she likes honest people.

Me: What? So you don’t think I’m honest?

Her: I think you are temperamental and two-faced. Okay?

TEMPERAMENTAL AND TWO-FACED??  WHAT. THE. FUCK??  I’m not the one who automatically assumes that because I was looking in her general direction with a certain look on my face that that expression was meant for her and that I don’t like her. (in all honesty, I don’t like her, but I didn’t DIS-like her (too much) until the bitch called me dishonest, two-faced and temperamental! I DID tolerate her so that our boys could be friends.)

If you ask me, I think that either menopause or the isolation she experiences during the day (she doesn’t drive, doesn’t speak English, and thus hardly EVER leaves the house) is making her crazy and she’s taking it out on me!!  How come it always has to be about her??  How come she couldn’t turn around to me and be like “Why are you making that face?” ?  No!  She had to immediately jump to the conclusion that I really don’t like her and get my jollies by making faces at her.

This past Monday, my husband was home sick and I was late getting to the bus stop, so The Boy walked home with Mary and her son.  I dutifully stopped my car next to them, rolled down my window and said “Thank you” to her for grabbing him.  Whether she did or not, I couldn’t say, but it was the right thing to do.  You think that yesterday morning she could have offered me a “hello”?  Nope.  Bitch shot me a dirty look cause her son left her and came over to me and my son.

When I talk to my husband or my closest friends and family about this, they roll their eyes at me (as I’m sure you’re doing too, in between big fat belly laughs) and tell me to let it go.  That she’s not worth all the trouble.  But the issue I have is that I. DID. NOTHING. WRONG!!  I honestly didn’t see her looking at me.  I’m sorry if I couldn’t change my facial expression to suit her fast enough!  Now what do I do when my son wants to have a playdate with his friend?  I don’t think she’ll fly with it and I certainly don’t want her brand of crazy around my boy!  He gets enough crazy from me, he doesn’t need any more from any body else!!

So, we haven’t spoken since last week and yesterday morning I walked home with her in front of me and I made faces at her all the way home, giggling the entire time.   And in the afternoon, I had a perfectly wonderful conversation…  with her husband.  🙂  Take that bitch!

Next year, my son is NOT riding the bus, just so I don’t have to deal with her shit!

This is an original ROSCMM post. All opinions in this post come from Jennifer herself unless otherwise noted. All names have been changed to protect the innocent and the moronic.  This post has no compensation level as I did not receive anything for writing this post,(visit my Full Disclosure page for more details) and no, you can not steal my content unless you specifically ask me for it first. It’s called copyright, yo.

Copyright 2011 MastermindMommy

Categories: Drama, FAIL, I hate people., I swear they are trying to kill me..., Rants, this shit can only happen to me! | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “A Memorable Neighbor… or Keep Your Crazy Away From My Kid!

  1. Hahaha! She is crazy. Your story made me laugh though…. I am normally the one making faces at people… on purpose.

    Visiting from Mama Kat’s.

  2. Stopping by from Mama Kat’s!
    Holy Bo Jangles, she sounds like a piece of work. Since becoming a mom and attempting to make “mom friends”, I’ve found there are so many women that make being friendly to them not worth the trouble. Funny how in retrospect she kind of deserved the Stank Eye look you accidentally shot at her 🙂

  3. Ugh! Are you kidding me? What..Is she 12 years old or something? She thought you were making faces…life is too short..might as well make faces now! haha

  4. Oh you are so wonderfully immature, making faces behind her back and talking to her husband, I guess that’s why I love you!

  5. She sounds ‘high-maintenance’. I hate people like that.. I used to be ‘friends’ with one, and then decided enough is enough. I don’t have the energy for it.
    Stopped by from Mama Kat’s.

  6. Wow, what an experience! Thanks for sharing. Stopping by from Mama Kat’s.

  7. What a not nice person to live next to. I’m sorry you have such a terrible neighbor. I would take my kid to school instead of letting him ride the bus just so I didn’t have to deal with that lady.

  8. bridget

    i do love the fact you’re upset she accused you of not liking her when you admit to not really liking her ;p

    that said it sounds more like..i dunno it must be rough for her and she probably is misdirecting things. do you think the situation is beyond fixing?

    • Bridget, I love that you come on here and play devil’s advocate… I do not like her, but only for the reasons stated here and in other posts. I personally think she’s crazy and this situation is completely irreparable. Just the other day her husband asked me when my son was going to come over and play. I had to tell him that his wife and I had a misunderstanding and we’re no longer speaking to each other. Apparently, he didn’t even know. (or it was a ploy to get me to say something bad about her.) You would think that after that he would go and speak to his wife about it, and then maybe come back to me or tell her to come talk to me about it, even if it is for the kids’ sake and maybe we could iron it out. Nothing. I will not make the first move. I will not attempt to reconcile with a woman who called me two-faced and temperamental even if it IS for the kids’ sake. Those kids didn’t have a very healthy relationship in the first place! They can still be friends. I have no problem with that. They can still play together (or what they consider playing together). But I will not have contact with that woman. And she will clearly not have contact with me. I am done with her. Period.

      Sorry, I got a little ranty there… It’s not easy for me to not be liked by someone… I’m still a little bristled by it.

  9. bridget

    well i’m all zen and buddhist 😉
    but really it just seems (to me and i’m far from right most the time) that instead of letting this negative energy just well up between the two families it might be better off for your own health to just confront her and get it over with. even if it means that things are absolutely proof positive beyond repair, at least there aren’t concerns about her sending her husband over as a ploy or any other potential miscommunications. though i’m generally more a fan of having it out vs seething

  10. **UPDATE** For those of you interested… I got an apology last week. All is well, she and I will never speak of it. I plan to keep her at arms length (not that I didn’t before) from now on… But at least our boys can play again. The Boy has never been so happy… 🙂

  11. Amy

    I’m with you! You can call me anytime you need to vent about this idiot!!!

    Want to call me on speaker phone and we’ll make up some crazy story? LOL

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

