5 things I’m not. (But I wish I could be…) Day 2 #SITS31DBBB

In case you are not aware, I am participating in the SITSgirls 31 Days to Build a Better Blog Challenge.  I want to write more on this blog and give you, Dear Reader, more content to enjoy.  Participants in the challenge are given a daily assignment to work on and if they’ve signed up for a group they will work with their group for feedback and support.

How to Blog

Day 1’s assignment was to write an elevator speech- in 140 characters.

Day 2:  Write a list post.  I’ve done this one a couple of times before so it wasn’t easy finding a topic.  I hope I’ve done it justice.

5 Things I’m not.  (But I wish I could be…)

5. Confrontational. I’m opinionated. Yes, that much is true. I have lots and LOTS of opinions, BUT… Most times I will keep them to myself, or voice them to you dear reader, instead of to whom they should be voiced.

4. Neat. If you’ve read my bio on my About Me page, you would know that I clearly state that I am lazy. I am, it’s true. I’d rather sit here and read blogs or waste time in Facebook than do a load of laundry or vaccuum my house. I hate folding little things (like kid clothes) because it’s so time consuming and monotonous. I mean, how many socks can this kid possibly HAVE??

3. Thin. When I was 15, I was thin. I didn’t think I was, but I was. I wore a size 8 and went to dance class nearly every night. I ate what I wanted, I drank what I wanted, and I burned it all off at the end of the evening. I am currently working toward that weight and lifestyle again, although I know with age, it’s going to be a long hard battle, but I’m willing to go the extra mile (pun ABSOLUTELY intended) to get there.

2. Attentive. I think I might have something akin to Adult ADD… (Look! A Birdie!) I can never stay with one thing for long. I start projects and never finish them. I start books and never finish them. I don’t know why. I think it has to do with that “L” word. (lazy, silly! Not THAT “L” word)  So please forgive me if I start to follow you and then suddenly stop.  The only constant in my life right now is my family.

1. Insightful. I have a friend who reads my blog (you know who you are) and she always leaves a comment on my posts that make me stop and think. I wish I could always see the big picture like she does.  Instead I’m in my own little world unable to see but the world directly in front of me.

So what do you think?  Are there some things you wish you could be, but just aren’t??  I’d love to hear about it!

This is an original ROSCMM post. This post was written for the SITS Girls 31 Days to Build a Better Blog. All opinions in this post come from Jennifer herself unless otherwise noted.   This post has no compensation level as I did not receive anything for writing this post,(visit my Full Disclosure page for more details) and no, you can not steal my content unless you specifically ask me for it first. It’s called copyright, yo.

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “5 things I’m not. (But I wish I could be…) Day 2 #SITS31DBBB

  1. Love it!!!

    #4 & #3 should be on my list too!

    Great post!

  2. bridget

    1) healthy, though that sort of seems like a cheap answer. i’m healthier than most people in my position but i still get irritated dealing with the limitations of my body at times. i think being more physically in shape can factor into this, since i enjoy being muscular and athletic, but the masto makes things hard sometimes.

    2) more fashionable. i figure i should follow something relatively heavy and impossible to change with something superficial. seeing how fashionable everyone is out here and how utterly lazy i am when it comes to my appearance gets to me sometimes. i’ve always been terribly self conscious about my appearance which i’m guessing contributes to the laziness, but now it’s more i’d just like to look well put together at times. but then i realize i’d rather spend $ on videogames or hoop stuff so it’s a moot point. if i had an unlimited disposable income i imagine i’d still find a way to not really allocate anything toward clothing, but it’s a pipe dream to look less like a tomboy and more like a girl sometimes.

    3) more driven. this is something that’s plagued me forever. i mean, literally, like, forever. when i was little enough came easily to me that i was able to succeed without ever really trying at anything so i got really good at not trying at things. and i mean, yeah i coasted through school but i never really pushed myself as much as i should have. but i do need to sit down more and focus on the things that challenge me or that i don’t figure out in half an hour. then perhaps i could play guitar instead of ukulele 😉

    4) more compassionate. this totally ties into wanting to be more insightful too i think, as i get that. there are times where i feel all centered and almost like i get it, and other times where i’m all “raaaar why can’t everyone stfu” because i don’t -get- where they’re coming from. and not like i’m going to be some zen little buddha any time soon, but there are totally times where i need to get over my own shit and see where other people are coming from.

    5) calmer. well actually in a lot of ways i think i’m pretty laid back and not prone to histrionics there are totally times where i need to chill the fuck out and be ok with the concept of nothingness. instead i’m the person who gets antsy during yoga or starts thinking about what i’m going to do -after- meditation, which sort of defeats the purpose of doing either yoga or meditation. my mind is anything -but- quiet (which i think really contributes to most of the things i just said i’d like to change) and because i’m lazy about working on that, i find ways to work around it. but i can multitask like a boss so i guess there’s a tradeoff there.

    i don’t think, with any of the things i’d want to change, i’d want to do a polar opposite shift with any of them (except health). i think it would all be about moderation and figuring out how to balance who i am with who i could be

  3. Another great post. I can definitely relate to most of this list! I would rather read blogs, watch vlogs or check out facebook as well!

    It’s been a while since you posted but I always look out for your posts! 🙂

  4. Most of the things on that list could describe me as well. Love it!

    Visiting from SITS 31DBBB. 🙂

  5. Hi Jennifer,

    I found your post at the SITS site…I signed up for a group and now I’m doing my homework to try and catch up. I relate to your list and definitely will be back to read more! Good luck with the #SITS31DBBB (this hashtag always looks like a bra size to me) lol

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

