Once Upon an Ebay Classified…

Do you use Ebay? I do. I am proud to say that my seller status is a whopping 128. That’s just 372 points away from a purple star! Ooooo…

Anyway, I’ve been a registered user on Ebay since 2003. I have selling spurts. I usually wait until my husband gets really pissed at me for being lazy. Then I get a bunch of stuff together and throw it on, see what I get for it, hope what I make is enough to cover the selling fees and pay a little bill here and there. Then I don’t have to listen to him. See? I’m a freaking genius.

So back in May at the SV Moms event that I went to I met this lovely young lady (younger than me for sure!) who represented Ebay Classifieds.

I’m standing there listening to her and thinking to myself, I already sell on Ebay, what’s the difference?. I politely accepted the label-maker and beautifully embroidered insulated bag (yay!  Free stuff!) and went about my business, figuring I’d check it out later when the excitement died down and one of my kids broke the label maker.

Fast forward two months later.  We’re almost finished with our kitchen remodel and hubby and my Dad are straightening up the garage and looking for an air conditioner that my brother can put in Smoosh’s room.  Lo!  And behold, they find our TWO (yep, count ’em T-W-O) pack n play’s.

One’s pink and one’s blue. 

The blue one we bought because the first blue one we had for the Big Boy got ruined in our short stint as pet store owners when he was just a baby.

We most recently used the new(er) blue one last summer for Little Miss to sleep in when we went to go see family in Rhode Island.  That was when we discovered that she could climb out of it.  Crap.

The pink one we never really used all that much and by the nearing of Little Miss’s second year it became more of a toy box than a place for her to sleep.  But it was cool cause it had the bassinet, and the changing table, a little thingy that made the bassinet vibrate, play music and light up so you could check on baby in the middle of the night without waking the whole freaking house, none of which either blue Pack N Plays had.  It was like upgrading from a sub-compact to a freaking Cadilac.  Awesome.

Anyway, with my kids too big to use them, and no more babies in our foreseeable future, it was time to get rid of them.

Now, I’d had some experience with a place called Once Upon a Child.  Basically they buy your used kids stuff (within reason of course) and sell it in their store.  I understand that you can cash in on some MAJOR deals, but I haven’t found that out for myself yet.   I brought all three (yes, T-H-R-E-E) baby swings to one store and walked out with whopping $24!  (Can you say “rip off”?)  While I was at said store selling said swings, one lady told me about another Once Upon a Child (apparently they are independently owned) that was so nice and clean and she got some great deals and Children’s Place shirts and skirts for $3 and “oh, look I got her that yesterday in Sayville, and it only took me three days to potty train my daughter…”

Ahem…  Bygones.

So with this info in hand, I packed up two kids and two Pack N Plays and headed out to the Sayville Once Upon a Child.  To make a long story even longer, I knew the owner from my pet store days (CRAP!) and they refused BOTH my PNP’s because of some stupid staining.  “That’s one of the things we’re known for, the quality of our merchandise.”  Quality smwality, you’re buying USED children’s gear,  you have to expect a little staining here and there.

Bygones.

I speed all the way home.

After bitching to my Dad about it he reminds me that I could put these things up on Ebay. I could list them “Pick up only” cause shipping those things would be a real bitch and would cost WAY more than they are worth and plus I don’t have a box, nor does my lazy ass feel like looking for one.  And I also don’t feel like dealing with people asking me to ship to Botswanna either.  People do that.  You list it “Pick Up Only” and they still email you, “How much is shipping?”  READ THE DESCRIPTION ASSHOLE!!  IT SAYS PICK UP ONLY!!

Sorry…

Then, like a bolt of lightening, it strikes me…  EBAY CLASSIFIEDS!  I met that chick at the SV Moms Group thing, why don’t I check it out?  It would be a great idea for a blog post and maybe help to make this blog into something other than a foul language rant about my kids and husband. (And I’m sure that THAT is the reason you LOVE me, Dear Reader, but if I’m EVER going to monetize this thing, I gotta make it look nice for advertisers…)

Ok, Ebay Classifieds, here I come.  I get on the site, I list the blue one.  Easy peasy.  Upload a pic, short description, submit, post to Facebook and Twitter.  I list the pink one.  Easy peasy.  Upload EIGHT pics (cause I gotta show the bassinette, the changing table, the music thingy etc.) short description, submit, post to Facebook and Twitter.

The blue one listed right away.  The pink one, I’m still waiting for approval.  Probably too many pictures.

But that’s okay cause within 12 hours of posting them on Facebook, I was contacted by two of my friends that they wanted them and as I write this, both PNPs have been sold to my friends for probably what Once Upon a Child would have sold them for.  And I know they are going to good homes.  And my friends got an AWESOME deal.  And they didn’t have to drive all the way out to Sayville to get it.

But now I have nothing to post on Ebay Classifieds and nothing to write about on here.  Maybe the pretty white bassinet my brother and his wife bought me…  No, my sister in law wants to keep it cause they want to give Smoosh a little brother or sister.

What else??

Anybody wanna buy a Mustang??

All kidding aside, Ebay Classifieds is a pretty cool site. It’s like that other classifieds site (ahem, Craigslist), only nicer. And you can list the stuff you listed on Ebay that didn’t sell. And they’re localized too, like Craigslist, only they need a Long Island section. Just sayin’… OH! And you can get to Ebay Classifieds right from your Ebay page… Look at that!! Just click the little box that says “CLASSIFIEDS”.

This is an original ROSCMM post. All opinions in this post come from Jennifer herself unless otherwise noted. This post has no compensation level as I did not receive anything for writing this post,(visit my Full Disclosure page for more details) and no, you can not steal my content unless you specifically ask me for it first. It’s called copyright, yo.

Categories: this shit can only happen to me! | Tags: | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Once Upon an Ebay Classified…

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Once Upon an Ebay Classified… « Ramblings of a Semi-Conscious Mastermind Mommy -- Topsy.com

Leave a comment