No Facebook

Ok, so, I’m not like a devout catholic or anything, but I try every year to give something up for lent. For those of you who don’t know, in the catholic religion, Lent is the 40 or so day period between Ash Wednesday (tomorrow) and Easter Sunday, excluding Sundays. According to upperroom.org “Ash Wednesday, the day after Mardi Gras, usually begins with a service where we recognize our mortality, repent of our sins, and return to our loving God. We recognize life as a precious gift from God, and re-turn our lives towards Jesus Christ. We may make resolutions and commit to change our lives over the next forty days so that we might be more like Christ. In an Ash Wednesday service, usually a minister or priest marks the sign of the cross on a person’s forehead with ashes.”

I’m not here to push my religion in your face (please! I am FAR from devout!) but I am trying to raise my kids with something to believe in, so we stick with the familiar, both my husband and I were raised catholic, it just seemed the logical choice. (That, and my grandma could rise from the dead and beat me if I didn’t.)

Anyway, that’s not what I am here to write about.

I am here to state, officially, that I am giving up Facebook for Lent. I have come to the realization that I have a problem. I am on it constantly. And if I’m not on Facebook, I’m on other social media that posts to Facebook.

Man, I need a life.

Lent is supposed to be a time of sacrifice; a time of inner reflection.

Here’s my sacrifice.

40 days.

No Facebook*.

IMG_0970

Cross your fingers for me. Hope I make it.

In addition to that, I am also going to try to get to the gym more, stick to my diet better, and stop swearing (in front of my kids, because, duh!).

*No Facebook means just that. No Facebook. I will still be using other timesucks such as Pintrest, Twitter, and Instagram. Baby steps.

Here goes…

IMG_0971

I’ll report back and let you know how I did.

See you in forty days Facebook!!

This is an original ROSCMM post. All opinions in this post come from Jennifer herself unless otherwise noted.   This post has no compensation level as I did not receive anything for writing this post,(visit my Full Disclosure page for more details) and no, you can not steal my content unless you specifically ask me for it first. It’s called copyright, yo.

Copyright 2015 Mastermind Mommy

Categories: I think maybe I have a problem..., Randomness... | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “No Facebook

  1. Pingback: A Challenge, are you up to it? | Ramblings of a Semi-Conscious Mastermind Mommy

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.